Happy Rebirthday, Hunter (and a webisode!)

Image

Waiting for his ECHO test.

My oldest son had cancer.  It still feels really weird to say that but he did.  He had cancer and he survived and he’s okay now. I use the term okay instead of great because, well, everything is not perfect.  There’s the fact that he’s at great risk for other types of cancer.  There’s the fact that he’s got pain in his hands whenever he tries to do normal regular things like writing.  And there is the fact that he is experiencing what is known as late effects of chemo and radiation and it’s caused him to be “impaired” cognitively in a variety of ways (on top of what looks like dyslexia).  He is such a fighter and he’s made so much progress in the past year.  I’ve watched him do theater and start karate and make new friends and take up the hobbies of reading and dolls.  He’s thriving.  He’s doing really well.  And yet I still cry frequently.  I still watch him and worry.  I still peak in on him while he’s sleeping and begin to sob at just the notion that he’s here, at home, with me.  And occasionally I freak out, not sure what the future looks like.  And sometimes I get angry.  Like when he says things like, “When I grow up, I want to adopt two kids and have two of my own” and yet again I have to remind him that he probably won’t be able to have any children biologically but that I’m so thrilled that the Lord gave him a heart for adoption.  Mostly though, I’m just thankful.  And proud.

Here is the premiere episode of our new webseries, “The Real Homeschoolers of the Boro”.  The topic of this episode is Hunter’s rebirthday.  I hope you enjoy it and I hope you learn something from it.  I hope you share it.  I hope it inspires you to look into becoming a bone marrow donor.  And I hope it makes you a little more thankful for what you have in your life.

Read about the day of the transplant here.

2 thoughts on “Happy Rebirthday, Hunter (and a webisode!)

  1. my bestfriends boyfriend had stage 4 brain cancer and was told he wouldn’t be able to have kids. well now she is pregnant (while on birth control). so hopfully God will provide a miracle for Hunter too!

Leave a Reply

