A Gluten Free Holiday: Minty Chocolate Chip Gluten Free Cookies (ie. The Best Cookie EVAH)

People, I have eaten a lot of cookies in my time.  You might find that hard to believe, but I used to get all pumped for the free cookies at the grocery store.  The classic chocolate chip has always been my favorite.  To me, there was no way to improve upon this simple, perfect confection.  That is, until I learned about the masterful ingenious combination of chocolate with peppermint.  It’s no secret that my favorite flavor of Ridiculous Chocolate is peppermint.  And I might also occasionally snag the mint flavoring that belongs to the business to add to my avocado chocolate pudding.  And, confession time…  I might totally be looking forward to Santa’s visit Monday night because I happen to know that he has this cool tradition here at our house.  He hangs all natural organic candy canes on our tree during his visit.  And, well, I kinda look forward to snagging one of those bad boys and putting it right smack dab into a steaming cup of Ridiculous Chocolate hot cocoa  Christmas morning.

Last week my husband came home from his Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s shopping trips with a couple of new items.  A bag of all natural peppermint candies (think Starlight mints) and a canister of peppermint sprinkles.  You KNOW I just had to come up with a way to use these little tasty treats.  So, I read a couple dozen recipes and decided to make up my own.  And, folks, the result was the best. cookie. ever.  At least according to me.  And my children.  And our opinions count!

Peppermint and Chocolate, oh MY!

Peppermint and Chocolate, oh MY!

SONY DSC

This boy thinks my cookies are the best cookies ever.

Without further ado, I give you my very own

Minty Chocolate Chip Gluten Free Cookies!

2 1/2 cups Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking and Pancake Mix

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 sticks of organic butter (be sure you set the sticks out for a while so that they are nice and soft…. you might even melt them a little on the stove.  not the microwave.  you know I don’t approve of microwaves.)

1 cup coconut sap sugar

2 TB organic pure stevia powder ( I buy this giant container and it ends up being a bargain since we use the stuff so very much.)

1 tsp vanilla

1.5 tsp all natural organic peppermint extract (This brand works nicely.)

2 eggs

1 cup chocolate chips (I used a combination of Trader Joe’s semi sweet and Enjoy Life’s Allergen Free mini chocolate chips because that is what I had on hand and already opened.)

1/2-3/4 cup of chopped up peppermint (We used a combination of the sprinkles from the canister and the candy mints.  I had the kids use our nut chopper to crush up the candies which was great fun for them all.)

Mix together your flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl.  In another bowl, use a hand mixer to cream the sugar, stevia, butter, vanilla, and mint extracts.  Once those ingredients are creamed well together, add in your eggs, one at a time.  Continue to beat the mixture with a hand mixer and try to refrain from tasting it.  There are raw eggs in there, yo.

Now you will need to add the dry ingredients from earlier.  Beat all of that until it looks nice and smooth.  At this point, remove your hand jewelry, coat your hands with some kind of oil (coconut works nicely) and start to fold in the candy and the chocolate chips.  Once you have mixed in everything evenly, divide the cookie dough mixture in half.  You will either need to wash your hands at this point or ask for assistance.  In either a ziplock bag or plastic wrap, place each half of dough that you have shaped into something resembling prepacked rolls of cookie dough.

Store them in the fridge overnight.

Slice them up. Put them on a baking sheet.  Bake at 350 for 14 minutes if you can wait until the next day.

I’d love to hear from you if you try this recipe!  Pass it on.  Spread the minty holiday cheer.

Happy Holidays!

One thought on “A Gluten Free Holiday: Minty Chocolate Chip Gluten Free Cookies (ie. The Best Cookie EVAH)

Leave a Reply

