Gluten Free Lemon Mixed Berry Muffins

Last week my sweet friend Pat blessed me with several organic Meyer’s lemons.  I don’t believe I’d ever had a Meyer’s lemon before but man, let me tell you, I am loving them!  I made a raw lemon coconut cream pie, some raw peach lemon coconut ice cream, some lemony green beans, and finally, I created these little beauties.  So, without further ado, I’m going to tell you how to make these fantastic muffins.

Gluten Free Lemon Mixed Berry Muffins

(these would be dairy free but there is milk in the Pamela’s Pancake and Baking Mix… we won’t be buying the Pamela’s anymore and we’ll be trying some new gluten free basic all purpose mixes that don’t include milk… but for now we have to use this stuff up.)

2 cups all purpose gluten free baking mix (I used Pamela’s Pancake and Baking Mix)

1/3 cup coconut oil (of course you can use butter here but since we are cracking down on dairy, we are even limiting butter, sadly)

1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons of milk (I used coconut)

1/2 cup sugar (I used Sugar in the Raw but I bet about 1 tablespoon of stevia would work well too)

1 egg (and here I added an extra egg yolk leftover from dinner the night before so you can do that too if you’d like)

1 tsp of vanilla

the zest and juice of one organic lemon (and again, I used Meyers)

3/4 cup organic mixed berries (I used the frozen ones in a bag from Trader Joe’s… chopped them before I added them)

Preheat oven to 350º.  Combine all ingredients (except for berries) in a large bowl. Fold in the berries. Spray or grease muffin tin and  spoon batter into muffin tin, leaving a little room at the top.

Bake for 22-25 Minutes.  Test with a toothpick to make sure they are done!  This recipe will  make about a dozen muffins.  They will not last long though so make sure to cool them in a secret location and them place them in a container in the refrigerator if you intend to keep them until the next day.  I made them for early morning tutoring and co-op breakfasts.

Here’s what the kids had to say about them.

“They were really good.” -Hunter

“Pretty good.”-Drayken

“They were really good.  I really like ’em.”

Gorgeous Gluten Free Beauties!

Gorgeous Gluten Free Beauties!

Leave a Reply

