Mandy’s Kid-Approved Grain Free Granola

SONY DSCSlowly but surely I’m measuring the ingredients for the dishes that I make so that I can write recipes for my friends and readers!  Last Sunday I managed to finally record some measurements for my grain free granola.  Both Hunter, my oldest and gluten free kid, and I are enjoying it immensely.  Hope you will too!

 

Preheat oven to approximately 275 degrees (you might play around with this depending upon your own personal oven).

Spray a glass baking dish or use coconut oil or butter to grease the dish.

Mix together in a bowl the following:

1 cup coconut (I used large organic flakes)

2/3 cup cacao nibs

1 cup raisins

1/3 cup chia seeds (I only had ground seeds on hand so I had to use those.  I believe whole chia seeds would be better though.)

1/3 cup flax seeds (Roasted golden from Trader Joe’s is what I had available.)
2/3 cup coconut oil (melted)

4 Tblsps honey (maple syrup, agave, coconut syrup would all work just fine too)

Spices:  I used about 1 tsp of  cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, and nutmeg.  You can use whatever you have on hand and whatever amount you prefer.

Once you have mixed these all together, spread into baking dish.  Put into preheated oven and after about 12 minutes, take it out and stir it.  You will do this about three times for a total of 36 minutes baking time.  You can also play around with this step.

I serve mine with unsweetened vanilla almond milk.  My son loves it in his yogurt and berries.

If you try my recipe, please let me know.  I love hearing how someone likes the dishes I create!

Leave a Reply

