24 in 2015

I don’t normally do New Year’s Resolutions.  Instead, in November, near my birthday, I reflect upon tumblr_mwh18ysraK1smhhjlo1_500the previous year and I adjust my life goals accordingly.  But this previous birthday didn’t feel the same to me.  Maybe because we were so busy with other things?  I didn’t have much I wanted to add or change about what I’d been doing so I guess maybe that’s a good thing?

Today is the first day of the new year.  After eating less than ideally over the holidays, I’m back on my paleo-sugar free diet (less because it’s the new year and more because, as of today, the holidays are over and I can put them out of my mind again for another ten months).  I’m planning to sit down with my three children and help them work on some reflection thanks to this awesome printable a friend shared and we’re also going to work on some goal-setting using this link as inspiration.

When the kids and I have our little New Year meeting, my intention is to share with them a goal that I came up with while on our trip so that they know we are in this together.  While we were driving to Florida a few weeks ago, I was investigating free audio books and free Kindle books to enjoy while trying to stave off vehicular-related anxiety.  I decided to combine the use of my Kindle app with the use headphones and listen to a free audio book while also reading along in the text.  Why would I do this, you ask?  Well, that’s simple.  Unless a book is a memoir written by a female comedienne (waiting not so patiently to get word that a copy of Amy Poehler’s Yes, Please is on hold for me at the library, Thank You Very Much), I have a hard time paying it any mind.  I blame the television.  Or, maybe more realistically, I have a touch of the dyslexia that my son inherited from me. Yay genes.

As a preteen I spent a lot of my time reading.  But after college, I stopped reading as much.  And when I did read, it certainly wasn’t what one would call a “classic”.  At some point, my having not read a lot of the great works started to really embarrass me.

So with the help of Project Gutenberg and Loyal Books, I can enjoy many of the classics I’ve previously missed in a way that allows me to (mostly) comprehend the material because I’m seeing it while hearing it.  Also, it’s nearly effortless and it’s free.

Each morning, I grab my iPad which I’ve ideally left on my night stand which I’ve ideally left there with a pair of headphones.  I listen/read for about 15-20 minutes and then I start my day.  Right now I’m over half way finished with The Invisible Man by H.G. Wells and, I can’t believe I’m saying this, but I actually like it.

Next up is Jane Austen because I’ve literally never read or even attempted to read any of her work.  After that, I’m not sure what work I’ll choose but the good news is that the two websites have a great deal of overlap so I won’t have any trouble finding something that works for me.

My goal is to do 24 of these books in the next  12 months.  This is in addition to my funny lady autobiographies.  Yikes!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

